In 1930 it was renamed the “400 Theater.” This is due to the fact that at the time “The Four Hundred” was a popular term for the top four hundred people in high society.
Keeping the name for over 65 years, the theater changed with the times. Even splitting the auditorium into multiple screens, calling itself the “400 Twin.”
We opened as “The New 400 Theaters” July 1st, 2009. Our aim is to keep the tradition of the 400’s rich history alive showing first run movies in four refurnished venues. Our staff aims to keep every customer’s experience a positive one so that they can feel they too are part of the “New Four Hundred.”
For an article on the history of The New 400 courtesy of The Lakefront Historian, click here.